Special Events

Performer on Stage

Durham Parks and Recreation (DPR) provides a wide variety of special events that allow families to experience safe, exciting, and organized recreational activities in a beautiful setting, recreation center or other locations throughout Durham. Most of these events / activities have a minimal cost or are free.

Take a moment to review DPR’s upcoming special events and discover ways that you, your family and friends can create memories in a positive atmosphere.

Volunteer

Are you interested in volunteering for a special event? Visit our special event registration page through Ivolunteer.

Event Cancellation Information

Events may be canceled in the case of severe inclement weather.

  • Call the weather line at 919-560-4636 and press Number 8 for the status of the event.
  • Visit Facebook and / or Twitter.
2020 SPECIAL EVENTS CALENDAR
Earth Day Festival Sunday, April 19, 2020
Canine Field Day Saturday, May 2, 2020
Bimbé Weekday Events Monday, May 11-Friday, May 15, 2020
Bimbé Cultural Arts Festival Saturday, May 16, 2020
Rock the Park Concert & Movie Series June-August 2020
Independence Day Celebration Saturday, July 4, 2020
UniRumba en Fiestas Patrias Sunday, September 13, 2020
Barktoberfest
Saturday, October 24, 2020
Senior Holiday Party Friday, December 4, 2020
Santa Paws Friday, December 4, 2020
Holiday Parade & Fun Fest Saturday, December 12, 2020

Event / Program Evaluation

If you have recently attended a DPR event or program please complete our Special Event Survey.